When you book a property, the homeowner may confirm or decline the reservation. Additionally, they may subsequently cancel a previously confirmed reservation. When cancelled, an email is automatically sent to you to confirm that the booking has been cancelled.
We only receive funds when a reservation is confirmed. Prior to the confirmation, we may perform a pre-authorization to validate the card information provided is correct and the card account is open. This does not move funds, but may be utilized by your card provider in determining your current ability to charge against the account.
If a pre-authorisation was utilized, the charges may still show as pending or not available in your card account. Typically, a pre-authorisation is automatically removed within 5 business days. A pre-authorisation is not a charge and funds have not been debited from your account. A pre-authorisation is simply a temporary hold of a specific amount that is provided at time of booking to guarantee that a guest has the resources to pay for the holiday rental.
For a reservation that was confirmed and for a card that received a full authorization, the homeowner needs to instruct us to issue the refund. Once that occurs, we initiate the refund request and you will receive notification. If you do not see a refund to your account after 5 business days of the notification, contact HomeAway Payments:
Submit a request by clicking here or phone: +44 (0) 203 514 3841 (Monday - Sunday, 24 hrs)